Major Misconduct – 5 Stars

major misconduct

Kelly Jamieson

An Aces Hockey Novel

Release Date: October 13, 2015

Goodreads

Amazon  •  Barnes & Noble

iTunes   •  Kobo

•  Follow the Release Tour   •

book blurb

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

excerpt

Marc chuckled all the way to the Land Rover dealership, annoying the hell out of his teammate and roommate.

“What the fuck is so amusing?” Army snarled.

“If she wasn’t your sister, I’d call you pussy-whipped.”

“Fuck off.”

Marc laughed outright. “Just never seen you so outclassed, dude.”

“Whatever.”

Marc smirked.

“What am I supposed to do?” Army demanded. “Turn her out onto the streets of Chicago?”

“Of course not. And she knew that.”

“She didn’t even tell me she was coming.” Duncan rubbed his forehead. “Christ. She quit her job. Just when she seemed to be settling down. Last I heard, she had a pretty serious boyfriend too. Guess that’s over.”

A boyfriend? Not fucking likely, the way she’d been looking at him. Marc shot Army a sideways glance as he drove. “She does this often?”

“Eh. She quits. She gets fired. She flits from one job to another like a fucking hummingbird. One boyfriend to another. This guy she was seeing actually lasted more than a few dates. Now all of a sudden she wants to move to Chicago. Jesus.”

“She’s young.”

“She’s not that young. She’s twenty-four. Only three years younger than us. She needs to settle down.”

Marc nodded. “Yeah, but think, man, we were on our own when we were teenagers, basically. We were playing and living in an adult world before we could even drink legally. Pro hockey makes you grow up fast.”

Army sighed. “Yeah. True. Heh. Especially you, Captain Codger.”

Marc rolled his eyes at the nickname. It didn’t bug him as much as it had at first. He knew the guys liked to jerk him around, but they did it with respect. And he’d earned the reputation of being serious and responsible, on the ice and off. That was him, and it was important to him to take his career and his responsibilities seriously.

Army shook his head. “I’ll let her stay for a while, but seriously, she’ll have to find her own place. Don’t worry.”

Marc shrugged. “I wasn’t worried.”

That wasn’t entirely true. Army’s little sister was smokin’ hot. At first Marc had thought his roommate had a hot chick visiting him and he’d been all Whoa, way to go, dude, but when he’d learned she was Army’s sister, he’d backpedaled fast. He couldn’t get out of there before she’d jumped up and rushed at him with a fucking dazzling smile, so goddamn gorgeous he couldn’t get his feet to move and could barely string two words together. Her smile was luminous, all white teeth and dimples and glowing face. Long, wavy red-gold hair gleamed in the sunlight and, fuck him, even though she’d been wearing clothes that covered her from chin to toes, her body was stellar—a soft blue sweater outlined high, firm tits and a small waist that curved into round hips. He couldn’t see her legs, but they were long, her snug black pants revealing slender thighs.

Shut it down, man.

She was Army’s sister and therefore waaaay the fuck off-limits.

And that was why he was maybe a little worried about her living with them. Just a smidgen worried. But hey. He was Captain Codger. He had no issues with self-control, self-discipline, or being responsible. He could easily ignore a hot babe living in the apartment with them. No problem. No problem at all.

Army’s phone pinged and he peered at the screen. “Great. An email from my mom warning me Lovey’s on her way. Thanks, Mom.” He shook his head as he tapped a reply. “She wants me to make sure Lovey’s okay in the big city. Jesus.”

Yeah, Lovey seemed like she was going to be okay.

They arrived at the dealership and while Army signed the paperwork, Marc wandered around looking at the vehicles, trying to ignore the attention from the staff, male and female. The receptionist approached him for an autograph.

“You’re my favorite player.” She let out a breathy laugh. “I watch all the games.”

“Yeah?” He obliged by scrawling his messy signature across the Land Rover pamphlet she held out, adding his jersey number beneath it. “You watch that last game against Philly?”

“Of course! You guys played great.”

He stuck his tongue into one cheek and nodded. “Thanks.” They’d sucked. They’d lost three-one, probably their worst game so far, another game added to their losing streak.

“D’you speak French?” Her eyes widened.

“Mais oui.” He grinned.

“That is soooo sexy.” She stared at him.

Câlisse. He resisted the urge to sigh and smiled instead. “Merci.”

“I love your accent.”

He wanted to frown. He barely had an accent. He’d been raised by a Francophone mother and Anglophone father, and although his education had been all in French growing up in Quebec, he spoke both languages fluently. Maybe there was a bit of an accent. Whatever.

“Hey, Armdog,” he called to his friend. “I’m gonna head out. Meet you at the Sin Bin?”

“Yeah. Be there soon.”

contest

eBook bundle of SWEET THE SIN by Claire Kent, BLURRED LINES by Lauren Layne, LOVING YOU IS EASY by Wendy S. Marcus, ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE by Laura Drewry, MAJOR MISCONDUCT by Kelly Jamieson, HENDRIX by MJ Fields and Chelsea Camaron, SURRENDER by Violetta Rand, A HIGHLANDER’S PASSION by Vonnie Davis, and TAMED by Stacey Kennedy

Rafflecopter 

about the author

Kelly Jamieson

kelly jamiesonKelly Jamieson writes romances with heat that’s sweet. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. If she can stop herself from reading or writing, she loves to cook. She has shelves of cookbooks that she reads at length. She also enjoys gardening in the summer, and in the winter she likes to read gardening magazines and seed catalogues (there might be a theme here…) She also loves shopping, especially for clothes and shoes. But her family takes precedence over everything else (yes, even writing). She has two teenage children who are the best kids in the world, not that she’s biased, and a wonderful husband who does loads of laundry while she plays on the computer writing stories. She loves hearing from readers, so please visit her website at www.kellyjamieson.com.

Author’s Links

Website  •  Facebook   •  Twitter

Goodreads  •  Amazon Author Page

tasty book tour

my review

5 Stars

I love the start of a new sports romance series – especially ones about hockey players. These professional athletes are intense and just as badass as any biker or man in a three-piece suit. And it’s because you know that to achieve the level of success they’ve reached, they’re incredibly passionate and driven. So the idea that an author is taking on a team full of those type of characters and having them all fall in love – it’s nirvana for me.

However, Major Misconduct isn’t just another book about some hot hockey player.  It’s a well told love story that is about one women finding her true self while meeting her romantic match and it is seriously fabulous.

I thought that Lovey was completely relatable and I got caught up in her zest for living.  She worked at finding the best in situations, people and basically out of life.  She’s only just words on a pages in a book but I wanted to be around her and share in her glow.  I devoured her story and her romance with Mark.

Lovey seemed a little lost and unsure of herself but it’s only because she grew up in the shadow of her brother, Duncan, who had a major talent in hockey and was able to make a career out of his passion.  Lovely didn’t initially have that – she needed to bounce around life a bit to find her place.  As a reader, I could imagine her life and put myself in her shoes.  So I was more than a little excited for her when her new career started taking off and then when Lovey and Marc give into their feelings for one another.  (I think I might have cheered out loud a little bit.)

Their connection was instantaneous – you’re almost knocked over by their desire for one another.  Every stolen moment between these two is freaking HOT.  They have this understanding for one another that heightens their sexual chemistry but that also made them friends. Their romance was kind of taboo and that made it fun to read.  Experiencing them falling in love made me giddy and created or reminded me of that crazy feeling in my chest one experiences when they find their true love.

So when they encounter road blocks and emotional hurdles, you are rooting for them.  These made up characters feel real and you want them to win at love.  They are the friends who turn into lovers that you desperately want to get their happily ever after.  That’s what made this book a must read recommendation from me.

I thought Kelly Jamieson’s latest release Major Misconduct was awesome. I absolutely loved it. The characters and their romance left me feeling hot AND they made me laugh – I’m completely hooked on the players from the Chicago Aces.  I will purchase every book from this series and I would definitely recommend you do the same.

Advertisements

One thought on “Major Misconduct – 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s